Guide To The 2018 Ryder Cup

Guide To The 2018 Ryder Cup


The 2018 Ryder Cup will be held at Le Golf National Guyancourt, France from the 28th to the 30th of September 2018. The golf course is located to the West of Paris about 20 miles. It was opened in 1990 and has a parkland-style course. The competition will be the 42nd edition of the Ryder Cup, which is held once every two years. The event is usually a team affair with the best golfers from the USA battling it out with the best from Europe. The event is held in courses on both continents and they alternate the right to host the tournament. The winners of this tournament are usually awarded the trophy that was initially donated by Samuel Ryder, who was a great businessman in England.


Ryder CupThe first edition of the Ryder Cup was held way back in 1927. However, in 1921 Golf Illustrated Magazine suggested that the US PGA should send a team of 12 American golfers to England so as to crown the pioneer US winner of the Open. In response, The Times newspaper put forward a suggestion that there should be a match between the best US and British golfers at the time. The match took place at the King’s Course at Gleneagles and Team Britain came out on top. After five years, a similar contest was held but it was somehow unofficial. The following year in 1927, the first official Ryder Cup was held and since then the tournament has been held every two years. In the 1970s, the US team became so dominant that it almost became a non-contest due to the margin that the team won by every time they played. Due to that reason, the tournament was altered to include other countries in Europe along with Great Britain.

Format of Play

Each team consists of 12 players who fight it out over the course of a three-day weekend. Each team has its own criteria for selecting its team members. The team members of the 2018 Ryder Cup have not yet been fully selected for the USA team as well as the European team. On Friday and Saturday of the three-day weekend, foursome matches, as well as four four-ball matches, are held. The four ball matches pit two European players against each other while the US players have a match play contest using their own ball. The player that scores best from each team on each hole is compared and the team that has the best player is considered to have won the hole.
Foursome matches are in a way similar to the four-ball matches but this time each of the two opponents from each team have to play alternating shots using the same ball so as to win each hole. The final day of the tournament is signified by singles matches where each team member goes against a member of the opposing team so as to complete each hole using fewer shots than the opposing team member.

How Scoring Works

Each match in the 2018 Ryder Cup will be decided by the player who has won the most holes out of the grand total of 18 holes. The player will win a point for his respective team to be tallied in the Ryder Cup scoring system. The total of eight foursomes, eight fourball matches, and 12 singles matches with a total of one point each means that there is a total of 28 points up for grabs this year in the 2018 Ryder Cup. The Winners of the 2018 Ryder Cup will be the team that secures 14.5 points first and, in the event of a draw, the holders of the trophy will remain the champions.

Participants of the Tournament

European Team - Ryder Cup 2018The USA team is comprised of members who are part of the PGA of America. The first eight players according to the points standings by the end of the PGA Championship on the 12th of August 2018 will be part of the team. The captain of the USA team Jim Furyk will then make another four picks to complete the team. The first three of the four participants will be announced on the 3rd of September 2018 and the final participant will be announced on the 9th of September 2018 after the BMW Championship.

The European team has a different selection technique in that the four leading players on the World Points List will make the team. Also, the four leading players from the European Points list will make the team. The final four members of the team are finally selected by the captain Thomas Bjorn. The European selection process for the 2018 Ryder Cup will be concluded on the 3rd of September 2018.
Captain and Vice-Captain Selection

The captain of the European team for the 2018 Ryder Cup is Thomas Bjorn. He was named as captain on the 6th of December 2016 by a five-man committee. The five-man panel was made up of the chief executive of the European Tour (Keith Pelley), the three most recent captains of team Europe for the Ryder Cup (Darren Clarke, Paul McGinley, and Jose Maria Olazabal) and a European Tour committee member (Henrik Stenson). The captain for Team USA is Jim Furyk. He was announced as the captain for the 2018 Ryder Cup on 11th January 2017 by the PGA committee. The captains are then tasked with the responsibility of selecting their vice-captains to assist them in the course of the tournament. For a team, European Bjorn selected Robert Karlsson in May 2017 and later on added four others in May 2018 who are Luke Donald, Graeme McDowell, Lee Westwood and Padraig Harrington. For Team USA, Furyk chose Davis Love III in January 2017 before adding Tiger Woods and Steve Stricker in February 2018.

Teams As They Stand

Neither of the teams is yet to be fully announced but there are a number of names that have already been confirmed. By the end of the PGA Championship, the members of the USA team that were in the first eight places achieved automatic qualification for the 2018 Ryder Cup. The names that have been confirmed are Brooks Koepka, Justin Thomas, Dustin Johnson, Bubba Watson, Patrick Reed, Rickie Fowler, Jordan Spieth and Webb Simpson. These are the top eight ranked by the PGA but there still remains a total of four picks to be made for the team to be fully comprised. Three of the remaining picks will be announced by the 3rd of September while the last member will be announced on the 9th of September.

Based on the current rankings team Europe can have a rough idea of the people that will be included in their squad. However, the eight automatic qualifiers will be known on the 2nd of September. The eight members that would go on to the 2018 Ryder Cup as automatic picks as it stands for Team Europe are Francesco Molinari, Justin Rose, Tyrrell Hatton, Tommy Fleetwood, Jon Rahm, Rory Mcllory, Alex Noren and Ian Poulter. Thomas Bjorn will then be tasked with naming his four picks for the 2018 Ryder Cup on the 5th of September 2018.

Disclaimer: All images are copyright to their respective owners and are used by Top Casino Picks for informational purposes only.

Relevant news

$25 Free Chip
No luck today!
25 Free Spins
Try again!
$4000 Bonus
$50 Amazon Card
Get a chance to win amazing prizes !
Spin the wheel and get a chance to receive amazing gifts or bonuses!
Our in-house rules:
  • One game per user
  • Cheaters will be disqualified.